Home > The Chamber > Committees

Committees

 For additional information on each committee, contact the Chamber Staff Liaison listed below or call 703.707.9045. You can also visit our calendars of Committee Meetings and LeadShare Meetings. Make your membership dues investment pay off by getting involved in one of our committees and/or discussion forums.

COMMITTEES
 

 Ambassador      Membership
 Business Education      Public Policy
 Communications      Resourceful Women of Reston
 Community Engagement      Virtual Realty Tour
 First Responders      Taste of Reston
 Government Contracting      Oktoberfest Reston
 Restaurant & Hospitality      Ethics Day
 LeadShare      

Ambassador

The mission of the Ambassador Committee is to actively engage the Chamber’s newest members by facilitating connections and involvement with current members. In addition, this committee conducts outreach to current Chamber members to ensure they are maintaining and maximizing the benefits of their membership.
Meeting Day/Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month from 8:30am - 9:30am
Committee Chair:  Laura Bryant, Springhill Suites Dulles Airport - (laura.bryant@bfsaul.com); 
Staff Liaison: Courtney Trollinger (courtneyt@restonchamber.org)

Business Education

The mission of the Business Education Committee is to establish the vision and coordinate the delivery of a dynamic series of continuing educational workshops to Chamber members and the community for practical application in the growth and success of their businesses.
Meeting Day/Time: 2nd Thursday of the month from 10:00am - 11:00am
Committee Co-Chairs: Lisa Albrecht, Momentum Financial Team (lisa.h.albrecht@ampf.com); Angela Inzerillo, AdviCoach (ainzerillo@advicoach.com)
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org) 

Communications

The mission of the Communications Committee is to assist the Chamber in promoting our mission, vision and strategic priorities and achievements to our membership and broader community using a diversity of communications tools. In addition, the Communications Committee assists our members in utilizing the marketing benefits and opportunities that are available to Chamber members.
Meeting Day/Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month from 9:00am - 10:00am
Committee Co-Chairs:  Marion Myers, Myers Public Relations (
marion@myerspr.com);
Michael Delpierre, Conversion Pipeline (
mdelpierre@conversionpipeline.com)
Staff Liaison: Amy Marlow (
amym@restonchamber.org)

Community Engagement

The Community Engagement Committee works to connect the nonprofit and business communities around issues of corporate social responsibility, seeking raise awareness and offer opportunities for companies to get involved in giving back.
Meeting Day/Time: 1st Tuesday of the month from 8:00am - 9:00am
Committee Co-Chairs:
Tim Hughes, Bean, Kinney & Korman (thughes@beankinney.com);
Pat Kearns, American Diabetes Association (pkearns@diabetes.org)
Staff Liaison: Amy McDowell Marlow (amym@restonchamber.org)
 

First Responders

This committee works directly with the Reston District Citizens’ Advisory committee to recognize and support the critical First Responders in our community through public recognition of the service provided by our dedicated Fairfax County police, sheriff, fire and rescue employees.
Meeting Day/Time: 4th Monday of the month from 10:00am - 11:00am
Committee Chair: Carl J. Pletzke, Iridium - (carl.pletzke@iridium.com);
Lori Reid, Executive Gift Planners - (lori@egpgifts.com)
Staff Liaison: Mark Ingrao (marki@restonchamber.org)  

Government Contracting

The mission of the Government Contracting Committee is to serve emerging and middle-market government contractors and entrepreneurs by connecting them to contracting and educational enrichment opportunities.
Meeting Day/Time: Last Tuesday of the month from 8:00am - 9:00am
Committee Co-Chairs: Lisa Turkeltaub;
Ken Brody, David, Brody, & Dondershine, LLP (kbrody@dbd-law.com)
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org)

Restaurant & Hospitality

The mission of the Restaurant & Hospitality Committee is to highlight the benefits, features and specials that our member companies offer to the Dulles Corridor community. This committee will work to increase business through creative projects that will provide greater exposure and awareness of their services within the Chamber and the community at large.
Meeting Day/Time: TBD
Committee Co-Chairs: Joel Barajas, Il Fornaio (jbarajas@ilfo.com); Lisa Nicholls, Tira! Strategies (lisa@tirastrategies.com)
Staff Liaison: Amy Marlow (amym@restonchamber.org)

LeadShare

The mission of LeadShare is to facilitate business growth among Chamber  members. LeadShare groups connect members to learn about each other’s businesses, exchange warm leads and facilitate introductions to prospective clients.  The Chamber operates three industry-exclusive groups of no more than 30 members who meet twice a month for one hour. Our LeadShares are industry exclusive so that your business has the full market share within your group. Regular attendance is mandatory in order to participate.
Meeting Day/Time: Varies; please contact Courtney Trollinger for details.
Tuesday Co-Chairs: Carl Larsen, M&T Bank (
clarsen@mtb.com);  Tina Fisher, Bechtel Conference Center (tfisher@asce.org)
Wednesday Co-Chairs: Laura Poindexter, QueenbCreative LLC (
laurab@queenbcreative); Stephanie Barksdale, Comcast Business Class (stephanie_barksdale@cable.comcast.com)
Thursday Co-Chairs: Fred Diamond, Institute for Excellence in Sales & Business Development (
fdiamond@i4esbd.com); Hector Velez, HireStrategy (hvelez@hirestrategy.com)
Staff Liaison: Courtney Trollinger (
courtneyt@restonchamber.org)

 

Membership

The mission of the Membership Committee is to assist the Chamber in actively recruiting new member companies of all sizes. The Membership Committee conducts targeted outreach to prospective members by promoting the value of membership.
Meeting Day/Time: 3rd Tuesday of the month from 8:30am - 9:30am
Committee Co-Chairs: Sam Cousins, SBIS (sam@sbisonline.com); Charles Kapur, EagleBank (ckapur@eaglebankcorp.com)
Staff Liaison: Todd Rhoden (toddr@restonchamber.org)

Public Policy

This is a number-limited committee but if you are already active in political circles and enjoy delving into complicated and pressing business issues, you should apply to be a member of this very important committee.
Meeting Day/Time: 2nd Friday of the month from 8:00am - 9:00am
Committee Co-Chairs: Tracy Baynard, McGuireWoods Consulting (tbaynard@mwcllc.com) and
Mark Looney, Cooley LLP (mlooney@cooley.com)
Staff Liaison: Mark Ingrao (marki@restonchamber.org)

Resourceful Women of Reston

The mission of the Resourceful Women of Reston is to artfully blend networking, social activity and professional development to connect resourceful women and foster growth and entrepreneurship.
Meeting Day/Time: Bi-monthly on the 2nd Tuesday of the month from 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Committee Co-Chairs: Diane Holland, Access National Bank (dholland@accessnationalbank.com) and Jane Raymond, Reston Hospital Center (jane.raymond@hcahealthcare.com)
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org)
 


 

SPECIAL EVENT COMMITTEES

Virtual Realty Tour 

Join the committee that puts together the largest and most popular annual commercial real estate tour of the Dulles Business Corridor. This highly anticipated and attended event will be right up your alley if you're interested in the local area commercial real estate industry.
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org)  

Taste of Reston 

If you are a "foodie" then this is the committee for you! We are hungry for volunteers to dive into the popular spring festival that features Reston's best restaurants. Join in the efforts to recruit sponsors, restaurants, and vendors and assist with overall festival logistics.
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org)  

Oktoberfest Reston

Get in the mood for fall fun by helping plan Northern Virginia's largest outdoor autumn festival. Join in the efforts to recruit sponsors, restaurants, and vendors and assist with overall festival logistics.
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org)  

Ethics Day 

This committee brings the resources of the business community to local schools. Activities include our formal School Partnership Program with South Lakes High School and Ethics Day, a day of ethical decision making held for all seniors at SLHS each November.
Staff Liaison: Ashley Hunter (ashleyh@restonchamber.org)  
Follow Greater Reston Chamber on LinkedIn Follow Greater Reston Chamber on Flickr Follow Greater Reston Chamber on YouTube Follow Greater Reston Chamber on Twitter Follow Greater Reston Chamber on Facebook Follow Greater Reston Chamber on LinkedIn Follow Greater Reston Chamber on Flickr Follow Greater Reston Chamber on YouTube Follow Greater Reston Chamber on Twitter Follow Greater Reston Chamber on Facebook